"https://www.trustlink.org/images/image_bus_no.hpg"

Bruce B.'s review of Spokeo, Inc

Spokeo, Inc

         
Customer Reviews & Ratings
Complaint Posted 1/6/2011
. 1
. 0
Review 1/6/2011
The small 2.95 per month charge has managed to put my bank account into the negatives in excess of 200 dollars in a matter of 3 days. I signed up for this site because my wife is the victim of domestic violence from her ex-husband. Unfortunately, she also needs to maintain an online presence for her career. I was hoping that we would be able to monitor exactly how much information was out there and make sure that her business contacts could still reach her without revealing information about our home address, activities, and children. After 10 minutes of using the service I would have cancelled anyway. The reports we old and out of date at best, and in two instances the site meshed my wife's information with that of another woman with the same name. If my wife's ex-husband would come after her using the info on this site my wife would be completely safe, however a completely innocent woman could possibly be injured just because she shares my wife's name. Furthermore, the advertised monthly fee of 2.95 per month that is so obviously splashed over their plans page is charged at one time. This fact is not placed in any obvious place, in fact it is NOWHERE on the plans page at all. 35.40 will be deducted immediately. In our case this meant that several small charges handled via debit card bounced, netting us over 200 dollars in insufficient funds fees. When customer services was contacted the operator (quite rudely) announced that no refunds were given, ever, for any reason. She refused to allow us to talk to her supervisor. Basically Spokeo gave me an inferior product, used unethical advertising methods, provided poor customer service, and completely refused to stand behind their product. I wouldn't recommend this company to my worst enemy, but if I chose to I could rest safely knowing that he would never find me using this service.
 
 
Business's response - by Spokeo, Incon 9/28/2011
Dear Bruce, I'm sorry to hear that our service did not meet your expectations. Spokeo showcases the power of information aggregation, as the data is gathered from a multitude of different sources, such as social networks, public records, phone listings, marketing surveys and more. However, machine aggregation has its limits. Since there is no human involved, the data is not verified and might not be accurate. Moreover, many sources do not refresh their data often. Our Terms of Use states clearly that we are a Search Engine, and do not create, maintain or modify any of the information you see. For this reason, we cannot guarantee full or accurate information for every name, phone number, email address or username you search for, as the results vary so much from person to person. We are only as good as our sources, and our engineers are working hard on new algorithms to improve our data accuracy. In regards to the total cost, I'm also sorry if you were under the wrong impression and hope to assist you in whatever way possible. Because you had selected our 12-month plan, a total of $35.40 had been deducted. Because this provides you access for the full term, the average cost is $2.95 per month, which is the amount you may have been confused with. To make this even more prominent for our payers, we include this information as part of the disclaimer which has to be agreed to before the purchase is processed. I do apologize again if this was unclear in any way.
 
Was this review helpful? (22)
Send Message to Reviewer
Report abuse
 
Additional Business Information
Hours   http://www.spokeo.com/contact - Available by phone, email, & chat 7 days a week from 5AM to 8PM Phone   (877) 913-3088 Address   556 South Fair Oaks Avenue, Suite 101-179
Pasadena, CA 91105
Website   http://www.spokeo.com Email   customercare@spokeo.com
Contact   Customer Care Other  
 
 
 
© Copyright 2017 TrustLink All Rights Reserved.